Getting into that Christmas spirit

It’s almost time. It’s almost time for old St. Nick to shimmy on down the chimney on Christmas eve. (And hey, Santa? While you’re at it, could you clean it out a bit in there? It’ll save me on calling the chimney guy in the spring. Thanks!)

That being said, the Christmas spirit is in the air. The Christmas specials are on television (Merry Christmas Charlie Brown never gets old, and neither does Christmas Vacation), and the songs have been on the radio for a while now. And let’s face it, a lot of them are garbage.

There, it’s been said. Call us Scrooges or Grinches if you want, but you know it’s true. Garbage.

(And if I’m going to be a Scrooge, I’m picking this guy!)

But that’s neither here nor there. We’re here to talk Christmas songs. The GOOD ones. The ones that set get the Beerbarrel crew into the Christmas Spirit.

Here’s a few of our favorites!  (ed – Oh look, another LIST! Beer must be going first.)

Santa and His Old Lady – Cheech and Chong

Christmas Wrapping – The Waitresses

Christmas Don’t be Late – Alvin and the Chipmunks

These aren’t meant to be put out there as the “Best” Christmas songs, just the ones that seem to really sort of bring home the fact that it’s Christmas time. The classics are great too, although every time I hear Jingle Bells right now I can’t help but think of the Jeff Dunham/Achmed the Dead Terrorist version. Heck, any of the Burl Ives songs off of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer fit the bill for us here at The Beerbarrel.

I’d talk more about it but I need to get the Christmas shopping finished, so I’ll turn it over to the King to get his thoughts.

While I agree with all my co-blogger’s music, I just need to add a few more:

Nothing, I mean nothing gets me into the holiday spirit like Gene Autry’s songs.  Here comes Santa Claus was my first Christmas song and still makes me smile.  I remember listening to that album pop and hiss as my sister and I put up ornaments.

Also from Gene Autry is the true version of Rudolph is a huge hit at my home.  I’ve must have heard this song over 100 times and it still makes me smile when I hear my kids sing it.

The other song is Sting’s version of I Saw Three Ships.  This is my wife’s favorite Christmas song and it always makes me remember how much I love this time of year.

-King

And there we have it. We’ve got one more song for you though. It’s one of the classics, and as far as I’m concerned it’s “The” definitive version of the song.

Sing it Dean!

Enjoy those Christmas songs folks!
-Beer

Leave a Reply

