Notes from the road – Beer’s Xbox world tour edition

Well, maybe not so much a world tour. More like a trip to Texas. To the repair center.

You see, on December 23rd my Xbox 360 delivered an unwelcome gift. It must have wanted to get into the holiday spirit and all, so it swapped out it’s normal green ring for one red one. No, not the infamous red ring of death, but a quick check online revealed that my console was every bit as DOA. Error code E74. General hardware failure fault code. Or, as it appeared on the screen:

E74. System Error. Contact Xbox Customer Support.

So it was off to Xbox.com I went. They actually make things pretty simple. Press a few buttons, enter a little bit of info, print a label and off it went. The only hiccup being the holidays and travel which prevented me from getting to a shipping point until after Christmas.

Which brings us to today. And the amusing email I got from Microsoft.

We are happy to let you know that your console has been serviced and will be shipped shortly.

Serviced, huh? Listen, I really appreciate Microsoft taking care of this. Other than the two Xbox games that arrived as Christmas presents the whole thing has been relatively painless and user friendly. But let’s call it what is is. My Xbox has been replaced, *Not* serviced.

How do I know this? Microsoft told me, that’s how. See, the Xbox coming back to me has a new/different serial number. That means it isn’t the one I sent in. Now don’t get me wrong – I don’t care. I’m getting a working Xbox and that’s the important thing. But let’s be honest, there was no attempt at fixing. Especially since it went from being “Recieved” to “Under Repair” to “All done and on it’s way back to you” in the span of maybe 45 minutes. Yes, I was tracking it on the website.

They hooked it up, verified the fault code, and grabbed a new one off of the pile and sent that one back. I’d like to the Dr. McCoy was the one to make the evaluation. You know…

“It’s Dead, Jim”

So now I’m simply at the mercy of UPS. Still, I wonder if the Xbox will come back with a bunch of stickers like a suitcase from the old Bugs Bunny cartoons? Probably not considering I haven’t even gotten a post card!

Ah well. Later folks!
-Beer

Leave a Reply

