Playoff Time!

So here we are at the start of the NHL playoffs. I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t been following along closely at home.

The Eastern Conference? More or less a mystery to me at this point, other than the odd game here or there that I managed to catch.

Western Conference? Hey, that’s the one with teams in what, 3 different time zones? See, I keep up with these things.

So in a situation like this, I find myself uniquely qualified… to make playoff predictions!  See, I don’t have anything silly like stats, trends, or injury reports to deter my better judgment. Strictly gut feeling here folks. And since playoffs are usually “gut-check” time, that seems quite fitting to me.

So, here we go with the Beerbarrel’s 2010 Stanley Cup playoff picks, mine are in black, and The King is joining me with his picks in whatever color this is.

Click the jump to see our picks.

Eastern Conference

Washington (1) vs Montreal (8):
Beer: When in doubt, pick the Habs! That used to always be the safe bet. I’m not in doubt here though. Caps win and move on.
King:  I have chosen my mancrush as the grand winner this year so I’m going to have to go with King Ovie’s team Washington.

New Jersey (2) vs Philadelphia (7):
Beer: Every season, it seams like there’s a first round upset. This is not it. Devils advance.
King: Sorry Phillie, gotta go with the Devils on this one.  I don’t think they’re a great team, but believe they are the better team in this match up.

Buffalo (3) vs Boston (6):
Beer: This could well be the one. I’m on the fence with this one, but I’m playing the odds and going with the Sabres on the strength of Ryan Miller alone. But you have been warned.
King: Got to go against my brother from another mother on this one.  I believe Boston, although having a horrible year, will be one of the better playoff teams. Plus…CAM NEELY WAS MY IDOL..GO BRUINS! (I guess he’s picking Boston, huh?)

Pittsburgh (4) versus Ottawa (5)
Beer: Call it a gut instinct. No, I don’t have it in for the Pens. Despite the merciless over-hyping of Sydney Crosby, I actually like the Penguins. I just think they’re about to find out how rough the defending champs can have it in the playoffs and get earlier tee times than a lot of people think. Senators are the pick here.
King: Sheez….and I was the total Sid the Kid hater of the two of us.  As much as I predicted at the end of the playoffs last year that Pitt wouldn’t get past the first round…And as much as I actually love the Sens ( got an old beat up hat in my closet to prove my fandom)…AND as much as I hate the NHL bending over backwards for the Pens…..Sigh, I pick the Pens.

Western Conference

San Jose (1) vs Colorado (8):
Beer: The Sharks, perennial playoff underachievers, versus the Avs, a shadow of a once dominate team. I really can’t find much reason to want to watch this one, and I like the Sharks for the most part. Sharks move on.
King: ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…oh wait, was that a series….Avs, just based on the fact that the Sharks are doomed for a first round exit every year.

Chicago (2) vs Nashville (7):
Beer: If a team from Nashville pulls an upset and nobody in Nashville notices, does it really happen? I’m not convinced it’ll happen, but it’s a gut feel with no logic. And that’s how I’m picking them. That’s right. I picked the Preds.
King: There are only two teams that I hope never win the cup again and Chicago is one of them. I think the Preds are actually a pretty decent playoff team and will scare if not upset a few teams.  I’m with Beer on this one, Preds.

Vancouver (3) vs Los Angeles (6):
Beer: Roberto Luongo has an Olympic gold medal. That seems to make people forget that he also has a near meltdown as a playoff goalie on his resume (last year). All the same, the Canucks move on in this one.
King: This one I’m just picking on who I’d like to see.  I’ve been a fan of the Kings all season so I’m hoping and picking the Kings.

Phoenix (4) vs Detroit (5):
Beer: I have no idea on this one. You have Detroit (my hometown team – even when I lived out of state) against the former Winnipeg Jets (I just like that name better). There’s so many storylines here it’s crazy. The Wings comeback to make th playoffs, the NHL owned Coyotes. And really, if you’re the NHL – aren’t you thrilled with this matchup? Your bankrupt and for sale team makes the playoffs and gets to play the best drawing road team in the league? They may actually fill up the arena for 2 or 3 games. That’s serious cash come playoff time. It could be a lot tighter than a lot of “experts” think, but I don’t think the Coyotes get to play Cinderella after the first round. Wings move on.
King-  I’m a homer and I’m cool with that…Detroit.

So there we have it. No coins were flipped, no darts thrown at dartboards. Just gut feel picks at gut check time. We’ll see how we did come the second round, when we may try it again.

Later folks!
Beer & King

2 responses to “Playoff Time!

  1. the NHL doesn’t bend over backwards for the Pens. they bend over forwards and hold onto their ankles voluntarily, very eager for cindy.

    i can’t stand Chicago, so even i have to pick the Preds for this round. except for this:

    how about Chicago makes it to the Stanley Cup finals and loses? that would make Hossa a loser 3 years in a row with 3 different teams. the bad omen would finally catch up to him and nobody would touch him. it would be epic and so fantastic……. okay, back to reality.

    Washington
    New Jersey
    Buffalo
    Ottawa 🙂
    San Jose
    Nashville
    Vancouver
    Detroit

  2. Pingback: 2011 NHL Playoffs – Here we go again | Beerbarrel Productions

Leave a Reply

