In an effort to embarrass ourselves further…

We’re back for round 2 of the NHL playoffs!  You didn’t think we’d let a little thing like making fools of ourselves in the first round stop us did you? That’s what this blog is for, isn’t it?

On to the second round we go!

Eastern Conference:

(4) Pittsburgh versus (8) Montreal

Beer: I like the Penguins here (yes, yes, I picked against them in round one), not because I think Montreal will run out of magic but because of the style the Penguins can play. Pens move on. (And really, could things have played out any better for them with all the other top seeds going out in round one?)
King: So I’ve come to the conclusion that the east is just really weak and Pittsburgh might make it all the way back to the finals.  I can’t see Halak playing like that for another round.   Not really happy with it, but Pittsburgh in 6.

(6) Boston versus (7) Philadelphia

Beer: 6 versus 7 in the second round? How the heck did this happen? I know the Flyers are missing Ian Lapierre, so I’m going with Boston.
King: Once again…..Cam Neely fan…. Boston fan…..Boston in 5.

Western Conference:
(1) San Jose versus (5) Detroit

Beer: This one might work in the Wings favor a bit with the quick turnaround. They went to San Jose right after the got by Phoenix in game seven, so they’re not fighting a time zone change to start the series. The Sharks? Their top line slept through round one. I have an uneasy feeling about them. Wings win. (Which would put them in the conference finals for the 4th straight year.)
King: I picked the Wings to make the playoffs.  I picked the Wings to win the first round.   Go Wings…  But I pick San Jose to win in 7.

(2) Chicago versus (3) Vancouver

Beer: I’m sorely tempted to go with a coin flip on this one. ‘Hawks or Canucks? Something about the Blackhawks just doesn’t seem right to me, but I can’t put my finger on it. Something about their play I’m uneasy with. I’m picking them anyways though. Hawks win.
King: I don’t want to say this, but I think Vancouver with their missing defense will be hurting.  I have not been impressed with Luongo, either.  I know the Blackhawks have looked bad too, but…. Sigh… Blackhawks in 6.

And so there we have it for round 2 of the NHL playoffs!  The King has even gone way out on a limb and called the number of games! Brave man!

Once again, check back after this round and we’ll see how we did. Take care folks!
Beer & King

2 responses to “In an effort to embarrass ourselves further…

  1. sorry, been busy preparing for finals.

    my picks:

    1) Montreal
    2) Boston baby
    3) Detroit 🙂
    4) Vancouver– goodbye Hossa, see ya don’t let the door hit your ass on the way out. or better, hope you get knocked on it.

  2. Pingback: The NHL Playoffs, Round 2 – How’d we do? « Beerbarrel Productions

Leave a Reply

