Uh oh… Beermaker’s talking to his brain again….

Howdy folks, and here we are on a Tuesday..

“Uh Beer? Did you get lost? You feeling ok?”

Doing fine. What, I can’t post on Tuesday?

“Well, it’s just that statistically speaking, you NEVER do.”

Then it’s time to change that. Do you mind if I go ahead and get started? I’d like to talk a bit about the Packers/Steelers game a bit. You know, the one with the trademarked name that was played in Dallas?

“Um.. You’re a day late you know. You should have done that yesterday. You know, the day after the game?”

Yes. I know. I was busy, and I wanted to take a day to see what everyone else would say. See how my impressions held up to public opinion.

“Uh oh… This can’t be good”

Do you mind? Can I start now?

“Well, technically I’m YOUR mind, but go ahead..”

See what I put up with folks? Anyhow, let’s do a little big game review and recap. See, I was more interested in the commercials and the halftime show. Don’t get me wrong, there were two teams I liked playing, and other than too many drops on both sides I thought it was a pretty good game.

The commercials? Mostly uninspired. Too many old, recycled ideas.Just having different people do basically the same spots year after year? Boring. Still, there were a few bright spots. Especially if you enjoy physical humor, or like automotive ads (Although there were a few misses mixed in with all the car ads, too. Can’t win them all).

The halftime show? Well, I know some people who loved it, but I have to agree with the majority of stuff I’ve seen that panned it. It was bad. It was just not good. Not only was it musically disappointing, but from a “show” standpoint I thought it also fell short. And here’s the thing, a while back a friend and I were going over who some of the next acts for the halftime show would be. I had actually mentioned the Black Eyed Peas. So it stung just a tiny bit on a personal level, too. How did I come to think they’d play a halftime show? These were some of the things we thought of:

  • Have to sing live. The NFL has shunned lip-syncing, limiting the acts.
  • There generally haven’t been a lot of repeat acts, so if they’ve played before take them off the list.
  • Have to be safe (Think wardrobe malfunction prevention). So having someone like the Red Hot Chili Peppers come out wearing tube socks would probably not be what the NFL would want.
  • Have to be pretty well known. That hot new band? Probably not a contender.

So there’s the criteria we went by. Felt pretty good about actually forecasting it too. Until I heard it. But here’s one thing to remember though folks, whether you want to complain about this year’s show, last year’s, or so on…   Sounding good and putting on a good show at halftime is challenging. This isn’t a concert where the stage is set up, all the sound system gets dialed in, and then the show starts. This is run in, set up, play, tear it all apart and go back to football. It’s tough.

As for upcoming acts? Well, I think the Black Eyed Peas were an attempt to get a little more hip  and younger compared to Sir Paul McCartney, The Rolling Stones, The Who, Bruce Springsteen, and Prince. I think that will probably continue next year too. Although I don’t really know where they might go right now, I’ll have to think about that. I do think that when they roll into the Meadowlands in 2014 that we may see a repeat. In the greater NY area I think they’ll really want a show and I can think of three local names that I’d call front-runners right now. Bruce Springsteen (From NJ, but a repeat), Bon Jovi (From NJ, has played season openers before but not halftime), or how about this one… He’s a New York guy. And he hasn’t ever played halftime. Could they already be considering someone like a Jay-Z for the halftime show?

Time will tell. And hopefully the ads will be better in the coming years, too. And let’s be honest. Some years are always better than others. Just like the actual games.
(Want to see all the ads from this year? Find them here.)

Later folks!
-Beer

Leave a Reply

