Notes from the Road! Okay, more like from an island…

That’s right. I said Island.

Beer was on another boondoggle last week. Hmm.. “Beer’s Boondoggles”, sounds like a travel column. So where was Beer this time? In the Bahamas. Nassau to be exact. Um.. Beer? You said this was last week? Wasn’t there a hurricane down there? Yes, several. And they were delicious… OH! You mean Irene, don’t you?

Yes, there was a category three hurricane. We even got pictures and video. I do not however, have any of them off the camera and also do not have the camera with me.  Still, let’s see what we picked up on the trip…

Charlotte airport. Nice place. Easy to get around. Have flown through there a few times this year. But for the love of all that is holy, they need to get rid of creepy bathroom attendant guy in the men’s room there. Creepy bathroom attendant guy is bad enough at a nightclub or bar… I don’t need him showing up at an airport!

Nassau in the Bahamas. Fantastic, beautiful place. All inclusive resort? Go on then, even better! And Dr. No was partly filmed there.

Best part of some of these trips? The great people you meet. I’m convinced the relaxed atmosphere makes it easier to make new friends.

Coming back to reality and real life sucks. That is all.

I have no story that will ever top the one from a few years ago in the airport. “If your pants are falling down because you left you belt at the security screening area please return to claim your belt”… Over the airport PA system.

Yes, we got hit by hurricane Irene on our trip. They told people to grab what they needed as the moved us to a ballroom for a while. We grabbed the mini bar. We became quite popular. I can now say that I can cross F5 tornado (Oklahoma City, 1999) and Category 3 Hurricane (Nassau, 2011) off of my “I survived” list. Funny thing is, I don’t ever remember setting out to complete any type of list like that.

Okay, I’ve rambled enough for now… When we get the videos off the camera, and if I remember – I’ll try to get some of them posted. In the meantime here’s one that a guy we met made while we were at the resort last week. I think he secretly wants to be on the Weather Channel (who really missed the mark on the forecasts on Irene, btw).


Thanks Gaz!

Later folks!
-Beer

Leave a Reply

