Feb. 27th – Canadian Holiday?

So you’re saying to yourself, I’m looking on the calendar and I don’t see any holiday listed on that day. Well, you have to look at a different calendar to see this holiday. It’s on the NHL calendar…yup, it’s Trade Day.

The days of the blockbuster trades maybe done, but I still find myself glued to the Trade Tracker from tsn.ca. As we approach that day, I started to think back to some of my favorite trade days and one immediately popped into my mind…March 23rd, 1999.

We had a bunch of Red Wing fans in my office and we had the radio going as well as the internet checks. Then we started to hear the Wings were making moves. They picked up Bill Ranford. Then they picked up Wendel Clark. Holy Smokes…everyone was wondering what was going on with Ken Holland, then we heard the words….Detroit picks up Chelios for what..nothing? For those youngsters who didn’t know Chelios back in the day..have no idea what an enemy he and the Blackhawks were to us Wing fans.

For that matter, Wendel Clark was another major thorn in Detroit’s side.

Although I think those days of blockbuster trades are gone, I’m still looking forward to see how the landscape is going to change after the “Canadian Holiday.”

What is your favorite trade that you remember?

2 responses to “Feb. 27th – Canadian Holiday?

  1. Pingback: Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “In Hiding” Edition | Beerbarrel Productions

  2. Pingback: Draft Day! | Beerbarrel Productions

Leave a Reply

