Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Meandering Mind” Edition

Howdy folks and welcome to another Friday. We’re wrapping up a rather, well… those no rather about it. We’re wrapping up a fantastically warm, record setting unseasonably warm week. So let’s see what’s bouncing around in Beer’s brain this week and see what we can see, shall we? I can guarantee one thing this week. This one could get fairly random….

  1. Sometimes I try to keep notes during the week of things I think might be fun to use in this space. Other times, things will get sent in, especially by our good friend PB. I should probably let him do a guest spot one day. Anyways, sometimes we have notes ready, other times we don’t. And sometimes, as I’ve said before, the stories can just kind of write themselves. And sometimes, a headline just screams to be mentioned. And when that happens I usually use it. Right after I clean the coffee I spit out off my monitor after I read a headline that said… “Boy with doped goat can compete in Colo. fair“.  I mean, how often do you see the phrase “Doped Goat” in a headline?
  2. From the “it wasn’t ever really the boat’s fault, but it probably does need to go” department…. The artist tanker ore hauler ship formerly known as the Exxon Valdez is in the news. Seems it’s been purchased by a company in India that’s known for decommissioning and scrapping/salvaging old ships. Now, after the bad PR of the oil spill and everything I can understand the boat being sold and renamed. Even though it wasn’t the boat’s fault – it just went where they sailed it, the stigma was there. And it was also apparently involved in a collision and damaged again at another point. Sometimes, things are just unlucky. Ever had a car with a windshield that attracted every flying people on the road? Same concept. And in cases like that, sometimes it’s best to just let it go.
  3. And speaking of old boats…. In this case a really old, really (in)famous ship. We’re talking about the Titanic. There’s not a lot to say about this one. Everyone knows the story. Ok, I’ll be honest, most people probably know the MOVIE version of the story. Still, the basic concept is the same. The ship sank. Hope I didn’t ruin the movie for anyone. Where the ship landed on the seafloor remained unknown for a great many years. With improvements in technology, it was eventually found. And now, something really cool is being done with the photos and data that’s been gathered from the shipwreck.
  4. While I can’t say I’m overly into college basketball, I do tend to watch some of. And I have to admit I tend to pay attention to the commercials. And there are some great ones out there now. While I can’t speak to their effectiveness at selling or promoting their products, I find them fantastically entertaining. Which ones am I talking about? Well, there are two “series” of commercials out right now that I highly suggest you Youtube. I’m speaking of course, about Peggy and Mayhem.

  5. And speaking of advertising… I realize the main goal of advertising is to separate you from your money by means of a purchase. But listening to satellite radio lately… Wow. There’s obviously a different (lesser) degree of regulation on the things that get advertised. I’ll be honest, some of them border on coming right out and saying it’s a scam. It’s worse than listening to late night infomercials! So, just a friendly reminder to all those who listen to satellite radio… when they start advertising “Foolproof Investments”? There’s truth in that advertising. In the sense that there is a FOOL involved in any investment in them.

Okay folks, that’s a quick five and I’m going to see if I can find a way to enjoy the rest of today before we launch headlong into the weekend again. As for today’s video, even though I talked about the Titanic, there’s no way I was using that horrid song from the movie. So I went with something completely different to keep up the randomness.

Have a great weekend folks!
-Beer

Leave a Reply

