Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Pointless and Proud” Edition

Howdy folks, and welcome to yet another edition of Five Thoughts. I’m Beermaker, your host for today’s little sojurn into whatever it is I end up writing about in the space below. (How was that? Too formal? Stuffy? I was trying for “proper and dignified” but I think it came across as stuffy)
Anywho (and yes, I meant to spell “anywho”)….. Anywho, I’ll admit to not really looking into a lot of national news this past week. I’ve been focusing my attention on some local news close to home, but other than to say it involves a lot of people who are very bad at math and accepting reality, I’m not going to say any more about it. So, let’s see what crazy stuff we can find to cover today, shall we?

  1. I know I’ve covered this before, both here and on Twitter but I’m going to go over it again. My license plate/vehicle registration renewal arrived in the mail this week. Included in the packet is the little sticker (called a “tab”) that you need to place on your license plate. The packet even includes instructions. It’s starts with directing you to the license plate at the rear of the vehicle (even though in this state we don’t even HAVE front license plates) – see, they’re working with you! Next up is this line… “For all license plates EXCEPT motorcycles affix the sticker in the upper right hand corner”. Okay, let’s cover this again. Do you have a motorcycle? No? Ok, then it goes in the upper right hand corner. Simple. If you put it in any other corner, you are doing it wrong. It does not say use the stickers to play tic-tac-toe. It does not say use them to play connect four. It does not say use them to make your license plate look like a bingo card. If you can not follow “put the sticker in the upper right hand corner”, let’s be honest here… If you can’t do that, you probably don’t have the proper mental makeup to actually be operating a motor vehicle, do you?
  2. I get a kick out of this one…. Apparently there’s a man who’s been forging artwork for years, and donating it to museums. And he hasn’t been chaged with a crime, due to the fact that he’s always donated the paintings. Although it seems he’s avoiding charges by the slimmest of margins based on the wording that was used. Still, the museums are onto him, and I love what they’re doing in Cincinnati. They’ve collected a bunch of the forgeries, and putting them into a display called “Faux Real” to educate people about art forgery. The best part? The display will open on April Fools Day. To quote the guys from the old Guinness commercials… Brilliant!
  3. Officially, the Major league Baseball season has started. Seattleand Oaklandare currently playing a series in Japan. For the rest of us, It starts next week. Now, how can you NOT root for a guy trying to make the roster in Colorado? Okay, I admit, if you’re trying to earn that same roster spot you might not want to root for him. 49 year old Jamie Moyer is looking at catching on with the Colorado Rockies. I love it. It’s fun, it’s silly, it’s pretty much all the good stuff that sports can be. And it also makes me think of a scene from Major League. I can’t help it.  (Ironically, that movie came out five years AFTER Moyer was drafted)
  4. I seem to be finding a posting a lot of articles about stuff on the bottom of the ocean lately. Or at least it feels that way. This week, it’s news that Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos and a search team have located the rocket boosters used to launch the Apollo 11 space mission. I think that’s totally cool in a science/geek/history kind of way, but it does raise a couple of questions. I mean, when they found the Titanic, it was pretty obvious which ship it was and all, but with this… there was more than one Apollo mission. I’m pretty sure they all used the same types of rockets. How did they determine these were the engines from Apollo 11 and not one of the other Apollo missions? Did they get a picture? Regardless, still cool. And I hope they do mange to raise them.
  5. I drink a lot of coffee. And by a lot, I mean way, way more than I probably should. That being said, I’ve never been a big Starbucks guy. For one, I’m not big on spending $7 on a cup of coffee. I also don’t want to learn another language to order it. When I want a large coffee, it means I want the biggest size you have. When I do buy coffee at a coffee shop though (Geez, that sounded a little too much like the Dos Equis guy there for a second. “I don’t always drink coffee..”). Anyways, when I do buy coffee at a coffee shop, it’s just coffee. No Lattes, espressos, cappuccinos, iced whatevers (That’s my co blogger). So, this doesn’t bother me at all. This story might “bug” my co-blogger though since this pertains to one of his favorites. Do you want cream, sugar, or crushed bugs with that?

Okay, that’s five and I’m ready to jump into the weekend. Aren’t we all? So to close out, I’m going to go with a band that was suggested to me earlier in the week. However, since I can never do anything without trying to throw a bit of a curveball into it, I’m going to make a small change. You may know this band better for “Dancing if they want to” but for right now, it’s “Pop goes the world”. That’d be a sight to see, huh?

Have a great weekend folks! See you in two weeks! (That’s right, Kingkielbasa is now on the clock for next week)
-Beer

2 responses to “Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Pointless and Proud” Edition

  1. Just for the record…..I do not order strawberrys and bug juice at Starbucks. I can guarantee that my co-blogger has drunken more “bugs” in his drinks then I have in mine. His bugs might just be more happy. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Earth Day” Edition | Beerbarrel Productions

Leave a Reply

