NHL Playoff Picks – Round Two!

And as we round the corner into Round Two of the NHL playoffs, it’s Kingkielbasa in the lead! So, without further ado, or embarrassment, here we go!

The Results so far (Number of games in the series not included):

First Round Results:
Kingkielbasa53 –     6 right
PB          –     5 right
Beer         –     3 right
Tom Tantrums –     3 right

Eastern Conference

New York (1) vs Washington (7)
Kingkielbasa53 – Well, I have to admit the Eastern Conference is very interesting this year.  Three of the four first round matchups went to seven games.  Ottawa was a tougher matchup for New York then they expected and Washington upset the reigning Stanley Cup champs.  Second round wipes all that clean and I see a Rangers team coming out strong. I think they’ll take a pounding by the biggest team left, but will win this series.  Rangers by 6

Beer – Well – Washington offed Boston, which I didn’t think would happen. New York beat Ottawa (barely) which I did think would happen. Except I thought the number one seed would have had an easier time. Now they get the number seven seed. Just like my co-blogger, I’m thinking that the 1st round is now history and things start fresh. I’m still not sold the Capitals can play well enough consistently to win here. Rangers in 5

PB – Color me shocked! The King is in the lead? How the hell did that happen? Anyway I can admit when I was wrong and Washington v. Boston was a bad call. Hey Boston the “Burned out after winning the cup” excuse is lame!! You got beat deal with it! Washington wanted it more than you Boston!! Anyway this could be a stinker of a series or a great 7 gamer with two or three overtimes. I see my pals are on the Ranger train (not the crazy train with Ozzy). I would normally disagree with them but I cannot. I see the Capitals winning three overtime games in the series and the Rangers wins are blowouts. Rangers in 7

Philadelphia (5) vs New Jersey (6)
Kingkielbasa53 –  Paul Holmgren raised a lot of eyebrows with some of his moves, but man do they seem to be paying off for him.  New Jersey was one shot away from losing in double overtime to Florida. (Sidenote:  I was really rooting to see a Gary Bettman Cup this year too.  FLA vs. PHX)  This one I believe is easy….Philadelphia in 5

Beer – Pittsburgh vs Philadelphia accounted for more goals than the rest of the playoffs combined, I think. Can Philly keep up the torrid pace? I don’t think they can, but I think they can still be good enough to win a hard fought series. Philadelphia in 7

PB – How does Brodeur do it? Well let me rephrase that how do the Devils do it? I actually like this series and I see a hard, physical battle. The Flyers had all the motivation to spank Cindy Crosby well just because he is Cindy. The Devils are well the Devils. I like Elias and Parise to care the load just like Giroux and Jagr for Philly. But I think this will come down to the goalies and lets see if Marty has one more round of magic in him. I do have the depth edge to Philly but I am going to throw caution to the win and say Devils in 6.

Western Conference

St. Louis (2) vs Los Angeles (8)
Kingkielbasa53 – I like this match up.  This might be the best one to watch this round.  I’m not sure if LA beating Vancouver was that surprising as the President’s Cup curse seems to be in full effect.  St. Louis scares me more than LA does at this point though.  St. Louis in 7

Beer – Los Angeles might be the biggest question mark left in the playoffs. Are they really that good? Hot team in the right place at the right time? More importantly, can it be sustained for another round to make one of those magical cinderella runs? No, it can’t. But they’re sure going to give it a good try.  St. Louis in 7

PB – Well this set the table for a defensive series. The West now has four teams that have not won a Stanley Cup in this round. L.A. has a good solid defensive play and one hot goalie. St. Louis is rolling with plenty of grit and determination and two really good goalies. As much as I like Jonathan Quick I just can pick with him this time. This will be the best series in this round. St. Louis in 7

Phoenix (3) vs Nashville (4)
Kingkielbasa53 – The Jets have broken the curse! Errr, wait..never mind.  Phoenix is in the second round…yeah baby!  Unfortunately, I think this is Barry Trotz may finally get the break this year.  The big question will be if they can continue the role with Pekka as they’ve been off for a while and hot goalies can cool off.  I wouldn’t be surprised in Phoenix wins, but I’m going Nashville in 7

Beer – As I said in Five Thoughts earlier today…. “I was suitably impressed by the Preds, and watched none of the Coyotes/Blackhawks, so I’m going with the Predators in six.” So, there it is. Nashville in 6.

PB –  Can the desert handle the fact that they are still playing hockey now? Can the arena handle the warming temps to keep the ice from melting? I guess we will see. I see this as a swan song for the Yotes as they are going to move to China or Peru or somewhere in the next year. The Preds are a scary team and man the goalie is damn good (helps being 6’5”). No surprise in this series for me and man this hurts to say this especially since I picked them to beat the Wings. Nashville in 5.

And there you have it folks. Our picks for the second round. Remember to check out Tom’s picks over on his blog to see how he did, too. If he wins, maybe we’ll buy him a cheeseburger or something.  See you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

