Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Sto Lat” Edition

Howdy Folks! Before I go any further, I need to be a little self-indulgent this morning and wish someone a very happy birthday. It’s a big one, too. Although I’m not going to name names, or numbers. So with that being said, where did the title come from? Well, I wanted something kind of birthday related, and that fits the bill nicely. Also, if you’re reading this right when it went up – I’m not really here. I’m actually probably still recovering from last night. Isn’t technology grand? So, let’s get started, shall we?

  1. Random thought that occurred to me the other night. June bugs really are the drunk drivers of the insect community, aren’t they? They swerve all over the place while they’re flying. Especially the one that I watched take itself out by flying headlong into a downspout. It actually made quite a thud when it hit!
  2. Sometimes you just stumble into a headline and you just *know* you need to use it. Especially when it’s real life mirroring a movie. And even more so when it’s a headline that reads:
    Hot ointment below the belt distracts Stephen Strasburg

    Which of course, makes me think of the scene from Revenge of the Nerds
  3. Not that I really want to talk about the fact that we all have kick off at some point on a day when I’m celebrating someone’s birthday, but this one was too funny to pass up. Yes, we all go eventually but I have to wonder… did this guy have some inside information somehow? After all, there is passing away and then there is passing away without paying your tab after spending the night at the strip club.
  4. Let’s switch to a bit more light-hearted note. Call it a prank, call it advertising, or call it mean… I call it funny. It seems someone at Fiat over in Europe must have known when Google would be sending their street view cars (and cameras) around. Specifically, when they would be going past Volkswagen headquarters. Why do I say that? Because when the street view camera snapped a photo of the VW headquarters entrance – there was a new Fiat parked right in front of it.
  5. And lastly, because I can’t do a birthday/Sto Lat edition without it, and because it’s tradition…
    Sto lat, sto lat, Niech żyje, żyje nam.
    Sto lat, sto lat, Niech żyje, żyje nam,
    Jeszcze raz, jeszcze raz, niech żyje, żyje nam,
    Niech żyje nam!

    And for those of you who have no idea what that says or how it should sound… Here you go.

So there we go folks… That’s five and I’m off to a birthday celebration. Actually, to continue one – since I was actually out celebrating as this post went up. As I said earlier… isn’t technology grand? Before we go, I’ll let you in on a little known secret. We do, on rare occasions, take requests. And so, as a small birthday present we’re going to go with an artist who has been repeatedly requested.

Have a great weekend folks!
-Beer

One response to “Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Sto Lat” Edition

  1. Thank you Beermaker!!

Leave a Reply

