Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Weathered and Worn-out” Edition

Good morning folks! Happy Friday. Since I was unable to make good on my threats from last week (That being to schedule another boondoggle and get a guest writer in here), let me welcome you to another edition of Five Thoughts. We took this week’s title from a couple of things. A few weather related posts, and just feeling flat out “worn-out”. Not to mention the depression I felt when I realized this is the first full work week I’ve put in in nearly a month! I really do need another vacation! Anyhow, let’s take a look at some of what was silly and/or strange in the world this week, shall we?

  1. We’ll start with something slightly weather related. And with that, the Beerbarrel’s “Congratulations Captain Obvious!” award goes to the brain surgeons who figure out that the city with the highest potential financial damage from a hurricane would be… New york City. Wow, really going out on a limb there, huh folks? I mean, it’s only been said before. It’s only the single largest city on the east coast. And it’s only right up on the ocean in a low lying area. Sad thing is, they probably got some sort of grant to re-state the obvious. So maybe I actually should congratulate them. Maybe they’re smarter than I realized.
  2. Speaking of flooding, and things looking weathered…. A well worn dock bearing Japanese markings washed up on shore in Oregon. Speculation is that it was washed out to sea in the March 2011 Tsunami that struck Japan. However, we aren’t talking about your typical dock you have up at the lake. This baby is 66 feet long and made of concrete! And this best part of the article? This massive hunk of concrete and metal was designed to FLOAT!
  3. Sometimes, things get dirty. Or dusty. Or whatever. What usually happens next though is generally pretty mundane. You clean things up. Often times, certain tools are used. Such as a vacuum cleaner. However, sometimes even cleaning with a vacuum cleaner is not mundane. Like when you’re cleaning up inside a nuclear powered submarine. Or when said vacuum sparks a fire that caused over $400 million in damage to said nuclear submarine. Yikes. It does beg the question though. What were they cleaning that caused the vacuum to start the fire???
  4. Speaking of fires, and heat… I would not to be anyone connected with the Belmont race course this weekend if the race does not go off as planned. I’ll Have Another has a chance to win horse racing’s triple crown… but a labor dispute is putting the race in jeopardy. While I understand the fact that a signature event being threatened is an effective negotiating tactic, ruining someone’s chance to achieve something that hasn’t been done since 1978 can be summed up in two words. Not Cool. If something happens to cancel the race, you just know there’s going to be lawsuits.
  5. Lastly… I’ve been debating on using this one for a while. I’ve joked about it, made references to it, outright mentioned it. What am I talking about? I’m talking about one heck of an earworm. (Or an ear tick, as a my co-blogger called it. Noting that it goes in but won’t come back out). I’m talking about Red Solo Cup. Which just missed out this week on being named video of the year at the country music awards. Why even mention that if it didn’t win? Well, even its singer openly described it as “the stupidest song I have ever heard in my life.”And yet it got recorded by him anyways. Seems to be working out for him.

Okay folks, that’s five and you’ve probably got a song stuck in your head now. And if you don’t… well, how about now?

Have a great weekend folks!
-Beer

One response to “Five Thoughts on a Friday – The “Weathered and Worn-out” Edition

  1. And of course… I no sooner get this article posted than they announce I’ll Have Another has been scratched from the Belmont and will not run. Kind of ruins the whole train of though for item #4. Ah well…

Leave a Reply

