NFL Playoff Picks! Round One

Howdy folks!

Since we had some fun last spring making playoff picks for the Stanley Cup, before the No Hockey League went and shot itself in the foot head, we figured we’d take a shot at picking something we’re even more UN-knowledgeable about! We’re picking NFL playoff picks this time! That’s right, football. A sport that’s still being played. So without any further rambling… here we go!

AFC:
No. 6 seed: Cincinnati Bengals at No. 3 seed: Houston Texans
Kingkielbasa – Since I’m out of my element dealing with NHL playoffs and picking NFL playoffs, I’ll try to do my best in not embarrassing myself here.  I personally think the Houston Texans are a fluke here at the number 3 seed, but I don’t think that Cincinnati is that great of a team either.  Cincinnati has won more games of late with a great defense and I believe Houston is going into the playoffs only winning one of the last four games of the season.  Cincinnati for the win.

Beer – This is truly going to prove to be an exercise in me realizing that despite how much football I watch, I really don’t follow the other teams. I know next to nothing about either of these teams. I mean, I can name a few players on each side but I don’t know much about them other than recently reading that after all the firings recently, Marvin Lewis is now the 2nd longest tenured coach in the NFL. I saw the Texans get trucked in some big games this year. I’m going with Cincinnati on this one.

PB – Well it is that time again where we get to pick the winners of the Super Bowl. One thing for sure is I know it won’t be the Lions yet again. As my co-bloggers have so show their knowledge of the AFC I can say I see the NFL in trends. One team is trending downward in Houston losing four of their last five games while Cincinnati won four of their last five. Houston was tough as nails at home and they have a pretty good player on Defense called JJ Watt but I don’t know if he will be enough. Cincinnati is a well balanced on both sides of the ball. This one is a toss up and the coin reluctantly lands with Houston winning.

No. 5 seed: Indianapolis Colts at No. 4 seed: Baltimore Ravens
Kingkielbasa – Hmmmm, this one is a tough one.  I’m totally taking a guess on this one and going for Indianapolis.  Wait for it….wait for it…okay…hopefully, my “Luck” holds out.  Indianapolis wins.

Beer – I really like the Colts, and think they’ve been great story all year long. And this morning I may have even picked them. As I write this though, the news is breaking that Ray Lewis is retiring after the playoffs. Additional fuel for the emotional fire of a veteran, battle tested team that almost went to the Super Bowl last year. We saw the Steelers rally around Jerome “The Bus” Bettis a few years ago, and I think you might see some of that here as well. Baltimore.

PB – This is a crazy one to pick. Remember what happened to a certain team that seemed to get a lot of breaks last year and go owned in the first round in a team from Southeastern Michigan last year? Indy has played really well and had plenty of motivation with Coach Pagano driving this. Let’s not forget the drive for the Ravens of their motivation in the announced retirement of Ray Lewis at season’s end. With the Ravens being home and not having to play my favorite team the Steelers in the playoffs this still can go either way. But home field holds true again and I hate to say it but Baltimore wins a close one.

NFC:
No. 6 seed: Minnesota Vikings at No. 3 seed: Green Bay Packers
Kingkielbasa – Once again, since there isn’t going to be a hockey season this year (not official at this time though), I’m going to apply some of my NHL logic to this pick.  Although Aaron Rodgers can do the “discount double check” all he wants, I think Minnesota is my underdog of the playoffs.  No one expected them to be here at the beginning of the season, heck they were tons of people who thought the Lions were going to be ahead of them, but I feel they have something to prove.  Minnesota for the win.

Beer – This has to be the worst matchup possible for the Vikings. Why, you may ask? Is it because they have to travel to the vaunted “Frozen Tundra”? Well, yes and no. The Frozen Tundra doesn’t seem to be as big a home field advantage in the playoffs as it once was, but yes that is indeed part of the problem. After beating the Packers in the season finale the Vikings travel to Green Bay and the tundra once again to take on the Packers. Again. It’s hard enough to beat a team once in the NFL. To do it twice in a row, when you have to go to their stadium? I don’t like the Vikings chances in this one. Green Bay.

PB – Let me say “Hey Rogers!! Discount Double Check!” Now that’s out of the way this game should be a fun one to watch but not to play. The average temp of Green Bay is what -50C in January? The Vikings are a tough squad that without A.P. would not be the same team for sure and kudos to his recovery from major surgery on his knee. Hope the snow is flying and so will the footballs because everyone knows the Packers are not going to run the ball since they have not had a 100 yard rusher in 43 games. I get to be the spoiler and say believe it or not I hate to say this but the Packers are on a roll with offense and getting healthy on defense. Packers with a last minute TD.

No. 5 seed: Seattle Seahawks at No. 4 seed: Washington Redskins
Kingkielbasa–  This choice is not based on any facts, this is based on pure opinion.  I hate Seattle and dig the Redskins.  I hate Pete Carroll and dig RGIII….so don’t hate me bro…  Washington for the win.

Beer – There’s just something about Seattle. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s the distance from me, the lack of coverage they seem to get, etc. but I just don’t have a great feel for them. Of course, even with a bit more coverage, I can say the same about Washington. I’m going with Washington on this one.

PB – Well well well… the game of the weekend that matches two rookie QBs and two coaches I can’t stand. Throw out all that you know about offense and defense and let’s just look at the QBs. One has had more success then the other one and I think that will be the deciding factor. RGIII will be good but Russell Wilson will be just a little better. The Seahawks move on to lose in the next round.

So, there we go! As a quick recap, here are the picks by blogger:
Kingkielbasa – Cincinnati, Indianapolis, Minnesota, Washington
Beer – Cincinnati, Baltimore, Green Bay, Washington
PB – Houston, Baltimore, Green Bay, Seattle

We’ll be back on Monday to make fun of how badly we did.

Enjoy the games!

Leave a Reply

