NFL Picks! – The Big One!

This is it folks! The Big One! (Or the Big Game, whatever you want to call it)

Now that we’ve gotten the obligatory Fred Sanford quote out of the way,  a quick rundown of the results from the last round and then it’s time for the Beerbarrel’s “Expert” Picks Guesses! for the game…

Conference Championship pick results:
PB – 0 for 2. Leaving him at 5 for 10 overall.
Beer – 2 for 2. How the heck did that happen? Now 6 out of 10.
Kingkielbasa – 1 for 2. King’s now 1 of 6. To be fair, he did miss the one round.

Now, onto the picks guesses!

Baltimore vs. San Francisco
PB
– Well let’s just say that picking the NFL games is really not much more than sheer luck most of the time. That being said I have totally sucked in my picks since the divisional round. Well to quote Beer “We have a Har-Bowl this year”. All I can say is *sigh*. Not a fan of the coach of the 49ers and not a fan of Baltimore as well especially one linebacker that was involved in some illegal stuff allegedly. So the nice stuff out of the way, it comes down to the two best playoff defenses and one really good offense. I think Mr. “The Super Bowl should not be in an outdoor stadium because I have to wear a skirt” run will come to an end. Colin Kaepernick is the real deal and how this guy got passed over by so many other teams is beyond me. I can’t have my wish of a tie which should tell you how much I like both teams, I pick (gulp!) the 49ers to win.

King – Yawn.  Can there be anymore of a boring Super Bowl then the one we have this year?  I mean, the sports channels are trying desperately to pump this up, but I can say it’s a losing battle.  Two brothers coaching against each other..yeah, not my family…so no big deal.  A player playing in his “final” game…yeah, too bad it wasn’t his final game before he paid for his past crimes…..  Yawn.  So far, I’ve been off on most of my picks so I’m going the easy route here…the winner will be the fans that turn in for the commercials…oh what….I have to pick a football team to win.  Fine…..49ers.  There you happy.

Beer – I have to admit, I’m not totally geeked for this game either. Now, I’m not going to harp on any of the Ray Lewis issues. And let’s be honest here. He’s not the only one involved in this game that’s probably going to retire win or lose. That’s the nature of sports. And even though I somehow got lucky and predicted a HarBowl, I’m not enthralled with the story. And yes, it has been overblown. Where I differ is that I like both teams. I think this is a game with two very good football teams. And I think if history holds, only one of them will play like it on Sunday. In the end, I could really make a case either way. So I’m going to throw all the thinking out the window and pick by my gut – Ravens for the win.

So there we have it. Two picks for San Fransisco, and one for Baltimore. Of course, come Sunday night we’ll get to what’s really important. The commercials! Oh, and the game too, I guess.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

